deserted.

Well, it’s been WELL over a year since I’ve written.  So much has happened and I’ve learned, changed, grown, and experienced a lot.  One important thing that has changed is I’ve been able to come to terms with my sexuality- I came out as bisexual officially, found a woman who I fell in love with, and recently married her.  We moved from Chicago, Illinois to Tucson, Arizona in a small, cramped Honda Civic.  It’s been a huge adventure.  God has taught me so much and I can’t wait to start writing again.

Being from the Midwest, I’ve never really experienced living in the desert.  Since I just moved here there are a lot of things I’ve noticed about the terrain, environment, and weather.  It’s a huge massive change from living in the lush, green, flowing Midwest.

The Bible talks a lot about the desert, dry, barren land.  I mean let’s be honest- parts of the Bible were written and inspired in a desert.  I always thought of the desert as a completely dry, fruitless land with lots of tumbleweeds and mirages (thanks to Fievel Goes West). Since being here, I have only seen one tumbleweed, and lets be honest, mirages are everywhere.

Another thing I’ve realized is this is not barren land.  It’s monsoon season here, and there has recently been a decent amount of rain.  For example, yesterday it rained basically all day.  As a result, so many plants grew.  The mountains no longer were brown, but within a few hours, they were green.  There is life in the dry barren land.

When you feel as though you are in the desert spiritually, look for the rain.  Look for the sweet relief and take it in.  Life is not dry and barren- even in the most dry places.  It is full of rich potential, waiting on the rains of the Lord to flow down.  Sometimes rain hurts because of the dry patches of the soul- you can’t absorb it as quickly as it’s coming down, but eventually it will sink in.  There is hope- even in the desert.  Even when you feel as though reward is out of reach, too far off, it’s right around the corner.

“He spread a cloud for a covering, and fire to give light by night.  They asked, and he brought quail, and gave them bread from heaven in abundance.  He opened the rock, and water gushed out; it flowed through the desert like a river.  For he remembered his holy promise, and Abraham, his servant.”

Psalm 105:39-42

Leave a Reply

