krispy kreme.

The other day (and by the other day, I mean a few weeks ago) I went to Krispy Kreme with a friend.  We traveled around 45min round trip to get these sweet, hot delicacies and let me tell you, they were worth it.  I had been planning to go to Krispy Kreme for awhile (we were supposed to go over spring break, and then all of a sudden it was the end of spring break and we didn’t do anything we had planned…) and I looked forward to finally getting some doughnuts.

I know Krispy Kreme doughnuts is a random topic, but trust me I have a purpose, and if I don’t, I’ll make it sound like I do.  Essentially, we’re in this thing called life.  There are few things that cause me, at least, great joy.  One of those things is Krispy Kreme doughnuts.  I also love sweet tea, good food, good people, God’s restoration in the world, I love seeing broken things fixed or developing, etc.

My challenge is how much do we look forward to those little gifts and forget about the greatest gift we’ve ever received, the gift of grace.  I looked forward to getting that Krispy Kreme doughnut, and it was completely worth the wait and driving (and waking up early) to get them.  But how much do we look forward to the coming of Jesus?  Is it that it seems so far from us that we don’t remember the glory and the promise of it?  Or is it that we just get caught up in time too much that we forget that our life is but a breath?  My desire to taste a Krispy Kreme doughnut should be nothing compared to my desire to see Jesus reign on earth and redeem all things.  The longer I live the more I desire for Jesus’ coming because the more I realize the suffering, loss, pain and brokenness of this world.  But in my everyday life, I look more forward to the taste of Krispy Kreme on my tongue than the healing touch of Jesus in my life.

5 thoughts on “krispy kreme.

  1. Wonderful article! I love the underlying message … While Krispy Kreme is AMAZING, God’s divine grace tops it any day, and His grace is eternal! Hmmm, wouldn’t it be nice if the delectable taste of Krispy Kreme was eternal? Hey! God is perfect! I’ll bet He’s got a treat even tastier than Krispy Kreme waiting for us!!

  2. This makes me think that people wait for some kind of redemption or cleansing but is there a way for people to ease the suffering of others while they wait?

    • I think so. We’re all suffering together, and I think there’s a way to walk with others in their pain. Not necessarily finding ways to make it completely go away, but there is relief in knowing you’re not alone. Thanks for your question! 🙂

  3. I miss donuts. We’ve had to go gluten-free (and dairy-free!) for my husband. It’s hard … there are a lot of foods I miss. Some days I would give just about anything for a big bowl of chicken and dumplings. Hard questions to ask, but you are right … I should desire God far more than a donut, or my favorite comfort food. Great thoughts …

Leave a Reply

