hope.

So I know I’m posting this late, but I thought about writing this post all day yesterday.  I feel like that’s almost as productive as actually writing a post… ok, maybe not.

Recently in life I’ve been struck by the lack of anticipation and future oriented thinking of the evangelical mind.  I don’t mean the planning of your life, where you want to be in ten years, etc, I am certain we are good at that.  I mean the future oriented thinking that extends beyond our own life.

Maybe I’m just more strange than the rest, but I am definitely not one to plan my life out in great detail.  I don’t necessarily need to have my life planned out with every way, nor do I see the necessity in doing that either.  This makes life more interesting to me, not knowing what’s going to happen next.  Sometimes it gives me a freedom to know that whatever happens, it’s going to be ok.

Unfortunately, our society doesn’t work like this most of the time.  We are very focused on the next year, and if not the next year, then the next 5 years.  We spend a lot time planning days that we may not necessarily have and forget about the day that we’ve been given.  I’m not saying I have it all together, because being more extreme in the present is also bad- for example, when people want to know what I’m up to for the weekend, more than often I have no idea.  But I think there’s value in thinking about the present more instead of the future.  I have no idea what’s going to happen, who I’m going to meet, who God is going to bring into my life and what he wants to teach me.  But I do know that I’m here now, and that’s all I’ve got to go on.

This gives me great hope, living in the present.  It opens my perspective up to know the greater future of my life, and that greater future is found in God’s victory over evil and sin.  The victory of knowing that God will restore all things.  That hope breathes life into my present and gives me a purpose for each second that passes by whether I think of it or not.

Leave a Reply

